2 Comments

Hi

I read 10 books in April. Lots of spare time, but as the summer approaches I will be in the garden more. I read:

The Sisters Grimm by Menna Van Praag A modern day fairy tale for Once upon a time. An excellent book which I think Shinjini in particular would enjoy.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak for the about books prompt. Another good read that apparently is now covered in school as it deals with a child in Nazi Germany and as such would also be appropriate for the ravaged by war prompt.

The Color Purple by Alice Walker an epistolary novel and also a classic on my own list to read.

Then I read a trilogy by Becky Chambers that won the Hugo award for best series:

The Long Wat to a Small Angry Planet

A Closed and Common Orbit

Record of a Spaceborn Few

All excellent sci fi books that are set in an amazing future universe populated by all sorts of intelligent aliens and where for once us humans were at the bottom of the pile!

I ordered these books from Amazon and they came with a fourth book not part of the series but by the same author = To be Taught if Fortunate whck I also read.

Remarkable Creatures by Tracy Chevalier an author I like and have read before (she wrote Girl with a Pearl Earring. amongst others) I chose this for the Special interest prompt as it is about two women who were fossil hunters. A very educational and interesting read.

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiram Milkwood Hargrave a teen novel that is well written about a young girl on a fantasy island.

And finally The Octunnumi by Trevor Alan Foris for a book everyone is talking about and if they aren't they should be! This is a book lovers dream, the whole experience from opening the beautifully boxed and wrapped book to using the dictionary and bookmark that it comes with are a pleasure. I can not recommend it enough for all who enjoy a mystery and a bit of fantasy. If you want to know what all the hype is about just google it!

That's my 10 for April. It also means that now I have read a book from all the middle three lines of the book bingo card. Just the top and bottom left now. I have most of the prompts left covered except for the eagerly awaited release. The only book I can think of that would fit this is the next in the Game of Thrones series ( I've read the first 7) but I've no idea when that will be available. Any other suggestions?

Diane

Expand full comment